Riza Aziz Fails to Make Oscar Cut

January 22, 2014
The Wolf of Wall Street

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has determined the individual nominees for The Wolf of Wall Street in the best picture category. They are producers Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff. Absent from the list, is Riza Aziz, who financed the film (with Joey McFarland) through his Red Granite Pictures.

It is a surprising decision given that the Academy usually follows the Producers Guild of America’s lead, which also nominated Wolf for best film, but cited Riza Aziz, Koskoff and McFarland as producers after reviewing the various producers’ contributions to the film.

You can find the Hollywood Reporter article here.